Uncle Josh looks back

2014 Felt like the Year I Slowed Down.

By blogs, even though I added two, seems quieter. My fiction sales are even less noise-making, and my submissions have really dropped off. My lifting schedule is so light that every lift is starting over on the program.

In January, to jump start my writing, I took part in a 31-day writing challenge from The Art of Manliness. Here is a quote from my first post of that series:

I also am finding myself distracted by projects that aren’t writing, and these projects drop me into the flow pretty fast. I spent six hours fiddling with some paper mechanics on one day recently, and I’ve fallen into that habit. I can trance out on something that is constant problem solving and work and pauses to let the glue dry and stay like that for hours. I know I’ve spent twelve hours straight in front of a computer and not moving at all, only stopping when I feel faint because I’m not eating.

Well, that didn’t work out. I’m zoning out more and more. The one thing that seems to have stayed alive is my personal summary: Artist searches for muse and medium. I’m still searching.

There is a lot of good stuff written in January. I may revisit it and do the program over again.

February saw me doing something I haven’t done in 25 years or so: Stand on stage and sing. After a couple of years of running the lights, I decided to participate and sang “Why Can’t the English Teach Their Children How to Speak” from My Fair Lady. Stephanie played Eliza until she stormed off the set with an hilarious “Garn!”. We also sang the penultimate number: “Do You Love Me?” from Fiddler on the Roof. My only regret is they didn’t introduce our number with “there’s always time for one more love song.” Stephanie had been pushing me to sing it for years.

I also started lifting again. It was my first attempt of rebooting in 2014. I had a lot of reboots to my lifting.

March, according to my Journal, was all about theology and biblical realism, for which I have my own definition and it does not match what a Google search will provide.

April, according to my Journal, didn’t happen.

May saw a rant and an attempt to understand what “Orwellian” means and how it is not being used correctly, which is, oddly, Orwellian. More importantly, I woke up one morning and felt heavy. Really heavy. Unable to bend at the waist heavy. Getting up was a pain and exhausting. I am fat, and I was feeling it. So I joined Weight Watchers. I was 294# on my official start. Nobody believes me when I tell them I’m really really heavy. I’ve lost about 20# since then. It’s been slow, but my relationship with food has been a hell of a lot better.

In June we lost Jay Lake. In better news, the family reunion (biological and legal, not my old writing group) gathered in Ashland, where we saw some very good plays. They were so good I actually was inspired to write a short play, which is a first for me.

July, again, according to my Journal, didn’t happen. In the real world, my immediate boss resigned, and … well, let’s just say nothing more on that matter. I miss her quite a bit, but she ain’t coming back.

August saw the attempt to revive and force myself to work on my old Story A Day project, which I renamed to Better Writing Through Reading and moved it off LiveJournal.

September was September. I put a tick on a box marked “get older”. We lost another dear friend to another terrible disease.

October: I prepped for the elections by ignoring them, and had a happy thought about.

November. Elections. Apparently I got 3 out of 7 right. A more egotistical blogger would claim Oregon got 4 out 7 wrong. I also bailed on NaNoWriMo on the 12h or 13th, and I really hope I remember this next October.

December. We kinda felt Christmas go by. Lessons and Carols was great. It’s such a big part of our seasonal prep that the season feels done by the time we’ve rearranged the church.

Fiction Sales:

My zombie story The Bread of Like, Life, and Stuff will appear in a zombie-infested anthology from Sky Warrior Books down the road.

Live Feed, a Murdock Collins story, went live over at Pulp Corner.

I also experimented with self-publishing and released Memory of Flesh (my first sale back in–gulp–2005) and Uncle Charlie Goes Swimming.

A quiet year.

I have declared 2015 the Year of the Novella. May it find us all happier.

About Uncle Josh

I am a genre writer from the Great Metropolitan Rain Forest.

Leave a Reply

